Four Poems

string quartet with percussion

Live performance videos of Four Poems can be found at the following links:
I - A Frozen Light
II - Brutal Forces
III - Silent Crescendo
IV - Vaulted Voids

Each movement of this piece is a short composition based on a single poetic image. Unlike traditional tone poems, which are based on literary works or stories, these pieces do not represent specific events or actions. Instead, they should be thought of as being abstract poems themselves. I therefore hope they will inspire personal imagery in the minds of each listener. A short description of each poem's central image is listed below:

A Frozen Light
This is a bright star on a cold clear night. Depending on the viewer's state of mind, it could represent unity and hope or isolation and despair.

Brutal Forces
It seems that the world is full of such forces, some of them are created by people, others borne by nature.

Silent Crescendo
Musically, of course, a silent crescendo is impossible. Intellectually and philosophically, however, it could represent a building of confidence, the emergence of ideas, or the coming together of like-minded people.

Vaulted Voids
Remains of the Basilica of Maxentius and Constantine in Rome served as inspiration for this piece. Like many monuments to past greatness, it has the effect of stirring strong and conflicting emotions within me.

(performance duration ca. 18 minutes)

Required Percussion Instruments

4 tom-toms (sizes ca. 8" - 12")

Web Analytics