Concerto for Percussion
and Orchestra



This concerto was composed for the percussionist Cheng Li-Feng (Cheng Ji-Hong), conductor Chen Shu-Hsi and the National Kaohsiung Normal University Orchestra. Due to time limitations of the premier concert's program, it is written as a single movement with an optional cadenza.

The potential for dialogue between drums, vibraphone and orchestra is what first inspired this concerto. Therefore the soloist must often alternate quickly between vibraphone and drums while engaging the orchestra in musical conversations. Keeping with this conception, all of the important musical ideas are played by vibraphone and drums, while the percussionist's other instruments are primarily used to enhance color and dramatic effects. In terms of character, this piece makes much use of the energy and drive that people often associate with percussion instruments. Although the movement begins slowly and mysteriously, with a vibraphone solo, the tempo eventually increases until drums shatter that mood. From that point on, syncopation, fast drum fills, bright colors and sharp contrasts characterize much of the music.

A video recording of this concerto is available on Youtube. That performance includes a cadenza.

For information about obtaining the score, parts and piano reduction, please visit the MostlyMarimba website.

(duration ca. 9:00 without a cadenza)


1 flute
1 piccolo
2 oboes
2 clarinets in Bb
(2nd doubles Bb bass)
2 bassoons

4 horns in F
2 trumpets in C
(Bb parts available)
2 trombones

timpani (five drums)

2 percussion

percussion 1:
large sus. cymbal
crash cymbals

percussion 2:
bass drum

percussion soloist:
3 small roto-toms
5 tom-toms
2 steel pipes
1 large sus. cymbal
1 kick drum